Obtaining a license is an important step toward becoming a good professional in the field of construction. In the state of Alaska, multiple qualifications are necessary. Also, it is important to satisfy all registration requirements. In Alaska, it is Community, Commerce, and Economic Development Department that enforces these requirements and restrictions. In addition, the Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing is also engaged in those processes.
If you are familiar with the Alaska Contractor License Classifications, you can easily get your contractor qualification in this state. This article will walk you through the whole process of getting your permit.
Why Should I Become Licensed?
The Alaska Contractor License is the legal proof of your professionalism. For handymen and similar experts, the license is actually a must. It helps to get more significant jobs as well as bigger salaries.
In AK, if you ever get caught providing services without this certificate, you may be taken into jail or fined. So, getting such authorization has a lot of benefits. Specifically, those include:
- Positioning your business as professional
- Protecting your business
- Giving credibility
Take into account that even the client can sue the person who started a project without authorization.
Penalties For Illegal Professionals
Besides the above-mentioned punishments, there are other penalties for those breaking the law. Specifically, they must pay several fines. The first offense will cost $1,000. Afterward, further violations will cost $1,500 each. In addition, each day is regarded as a separate violation.
General Requirements for Alaska Contractor License
There are several important points that you should consider for your permit. Some of them are
- Business license
- Completed and signed application form
- Surety bond
- Liability insurance, with a certificate of insurance
- Workers' compensation (in case of having workers)
- Fee ($300)
In the case of liability insurance, the prices differ. More specifically, you will need to pay the following:
- $20,000 for property damage
- $50,000 for injury or death of a person
- $100,000 for injury or death to more than one people
Note that the payment for the application is non-refundable. You should submit your application materials to the following:
Email: [email protected]
Address: 333 Willoughby Avenue
Contractor Licensing Section
9th Floor PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Fees and Payments
In general, there are several payments that the applicant should make. Moreover, the number of fees often depends on the type of permit. Some of the mandatory expenses are:
- Bonds- $200-$3,000
- PSI Residential Exam (for Licensee with Res. Endorsement)- $150
- Nonrefundable Endorsement Registration Fee- $235
Note that these are not the only necessary payments. Also, make sure to check all rules regarding payment methods.
Apply For the Exam
First of all, if you intend to apply for a General Contractor License with Residential Contractor Endorsement, you must complete the exam. Generally, it is the Alaska Craftsman Home Program (ACHP) that organizes the testing procedure. Yet, you may qualify also with the PSI AK by taking the Residential Contractor Endorsement exam for the license.
The Alaska Craftsman Home Program (ACHP)
The ACHP, or an equal program, includes a post-secondary class in Arctic engineering. The certificates of this program cost $20 each. Moreover, the course must be completed within two years before the date of the application. For more details contact:
Email: [email protected], Phone: 907-258-2247
3400 Spenard Rd, Ste 9, Anchorage, AK 99503
The PSI Exam
In AK, the PSI exam is conducted online. What is more, you should also sign up online and choose the date. The assessment is four hours long. In addition, the test consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. Another good news is that it is an open-book test. Moreover, the fee is $150.
Note that you will pass the test if your score is 70. To succeed, you should prepare beforehand. The topics you should review include the following:
- Thermal/moisture protection
The applicants can prepare for the test online. After successfully passing the test, one can take the residential approval within 12 months. You can learn more by contacting:
Fax: 1-702-932-2666. Phone Number: 1-800-211-2754
3210 East Tropicana Las Vegas, NV 89121
However, getting the permit is not the final step. Your license is valid for two years. General permits are due December 31st of each even year. However, mechanical and specialty constructor qualifications are due December 31st odd years.
To sum up…
So, the Alaska Contractor License is a must to operate legally and get bigger jobs. Yet, the procedure is not that easy and requires much attention. You need to go through each step of the application and provide legal proof of education to be able to get the desired permit.