Virginia Barber License Training Requirements

Have you always wanted to be a barber? Virginia Barber License Training Requirements can help you get there! We offer information on training requirements to help you get started. Get your Virginia Barber License today!

Virginia Barber License Training Requirements

Whenever you think about starting your career as a hairdresser or barber, you have to obtain a special permit. The Virginia barber license will enable you to work legally in the field of barbering and hairdressing as well as start your own business. Though the requirements may vary from county to county, there are still some basic ones common for all of them.

To know more about the charges, specifications, and requirements, we recommend reading the article. It also touches upon the documents you should have ready before submitting your request. Don’t forget about the renewal and out-of-state license as well.


In case you have made up your mind to have a hairdresser career in Virginia, the first thing you should do is get a Virginia Barber License. The process is not as complicated as it might seem. The hairstylists provide services, such as

  • cutting
  • trimming
  • shampooing
  • styling 
  • trimming beards
  • giving shaves

How to get the Virginia Barber License? 

First of all, there are established federal requirements for all applicants based on their education, experience, and exams. All the requirements and regulations are set by the Board of Barbers and Cosmetology in the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. 

In order to obtain a VA certification, all the potential hairdressers need to:

  • Be at least 16 years old
  • Have a High school diploma
  • Complete an approved training program 

This includes one of the options mentioned below: 

  1. 1100hrs in a state school
  2. A 2000-hour Apprenticeship (DOLI)
  3.  High School Hair Stylist
  4.  Equivalent Out-of-State project (in U.S. only)

Once you have completed the necessary hours, you will be qualified to receive the proof from the school and pass the written and practical exam, which involves:

  • Submitting an online examination application
  • Uploading Passport-Sized Photograph
  • Attaching $85 Written test Fee
  • Submitting $85 Practical Exam Fee

How to renew the Virginia Barber License?

You will receive a renewal notice from the VA Board office. The procedure takes place every two years by the last day of the month of first receiving the certification. The received form along with the $105 renewal fee needs to be mailed to the address provided at the end of the article.

However, if you prefer to go through the process online, it is available through DPOR Online Services. And of course, there is no need to have any additional schooling or learning.

The regulations have a 30-day period during which a certificate can be renewed without any penalty.

Transferring the Virginia Barber License

In order to obtain a certificate in VA based on holding a valid permit in another state, you have to submit an endorsement application. The law also requires:

  • A current allowance is issued by another state.
  • Training that is equivalent to VA’s requirement.
  • Equivalent examinations.

Please also note that the Board needs a direct mail of Certification of Licensure from the authority of the current state.
The whole application process for Practitioner Type costs $95.

Unlike Florida, here, the law prohibits practicing in VA with a certificate from another state. However, the professionals are allowed to work with a temporary permit under the supervision of another practitioner. This only works for applicants who are eligible and are waiting for the exam. There is no fee for a temporary certificate and it remains in force for 45 days following the assessment date. The applicants are not allowed to have more than one temporary document.

How long does the process take?

Even though the Board makes every effort to mail letters of certification in five business days, the official turnaround period is not less than 30 days.

How do I become a master?

To become a master hairdresser you need to pass an additional 400hrs of training. This course consists of an advanced methodology that includes:

  • Styling the hair with a hand dryer
  • Thermal waving
  • Permanent waving with chemicals
  • Relaxing the hair
  • Lightening or toning
  • Hairpieces and wigs
  • Waxing

Master professionals also can apply for temporary warrants. There is also an option of completing a dual training, which covers all the agenda and requires 1,500hrs of learning, and allows the individual to apply directly for the master’s permit. Cosmetologists with two years of experience may apply for the master hairdresser test.

You can also require an instructor document, with which you will be able to teach at a particular level. In case there is a necessity to verify your permit with an employer, you can do it by attending the DPOR official website and making the particular lookup.

With the high demand for men’s personal care, it is a perfect time to choose a rewarding career in the sphere.

Contact Info

Address: Board for Barbers and Cosmetology
Department of Professional & Occupational Regulation
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400
Richmond, VA 23233

Tel: +1 804-367-8509


Lilit K

Lilit K

Lilit K is a junior content writer who primarily focuses on blog posts. She is an innovative and creative person. Despite the fact that she is new to writing content, she is eager to learn new skills and completes each task carefully and attentively, which allows her to finish all of the assignments on time and effectively. She plans her day beforehand and has excellent time management skills. Lilit provides plagarism-free content.